Skip to main content


Six FUSD Elementary Schools Named ‘California Distinguished Schools’
Posted 12/18/19

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond today announced that six Fremont Unified School District (FUSD) elementary schools were among the 323 elementary schools honored under the 2020 California Distinguished Schools Award Program. Sponsored by the California Department of Education and presented by California Casualty, the program recognizes outstanding education programs and practices. Schools are awarded for closing the achievement gap and for achieving exceptional student performance. FUSD schools recognized are:


Chadbourne Elementary

Grimmer Elementary

Mission San Jose Elementary

Mission Valley Elementary

Warm Springs Elementary

Weibel Elementary


“These outstanding schools don’t just educate students; they also provide the young people of California the tools they need to be successful after graduation,” Thurmond said. “Thanks go to all the staff at these schools—teachers, administrators, classified employees—and parents, who are working together to provide high-quality educational experiences for all of their students.”


“Congratulations to the students, staff and administration at each of our Distinguished Schools,” added FUSD Superintendent, Dr. Kim Wallace. We are so proud to see the hard work of our educators and students recognized at the state level and applaud their efforts in and out of the classroom.”


A component of the California School Recognition Program, the Distinguished Schools program recognizes schools based on performance and progress on the state indicators as specified on the California School Dashboard. Indicators include test scores, suspension rates, and conditions and climate. Elementary schools and middle and high schools are recognized in alternate years; therefore, awardees hold the title for two years.


Distinguished School awardees represent examples of not just excellent teaching, learning, and collaboration, but also highly successful school climate efforts ranging from real-time conflict resolution to positive behavior intervention. These California Distinguished Schools, along with California Exemplary Arts Education Schools, National Blue Ribbon Schools, National Terrel H. Bell Awardees, and National ESEA Distinguished Schools, all will be honored on February 10, 2020, during an awards ceremony at the Disneyland Resort in Anaheim. For more information, please visit the CDE California School Recognition Program web page.